More tales of enchantment from Gwynedd’s mythical past
This is a site closely associated with the stories from the fourth branch of the Mabinogi. It opens as Lleu Llaw Gyffes, having survived the attempt on his life by his wife Blodeuwedd and her lover Gronw Pebr, is now seeking vengeance. As the enemies confront each other on opposite banks of the Afon Cynfael, Gronw Pebr asks that he be allowed to stand behind a large flat stone for protection. Lleu Llaw Gyffes launches his spear, which pierces both the stone and the body of Gronw Pebr, who is killed on the spot.
In 1934 Frank Ward did discover a large flat stone with a hole through it in the bed of the Afon Cynfael. This can be seen today at a farm called Bryn Saeth (Hill of the Arrow). Another farmstead close by is named Llech Goronwy (Stone of Goronwy) – an alternative spelling of Gronw.
The source of the Afon Cynfael is the nearby lake known as Llyn y Morwynion, Lake of the Maidens. In the Mabinogi, Gwydion the Enchanter and the men of Ardudwy pursue Blodeuwedd and her handmaidens into the mountains. Looking back toward their pursuers, they fail to notice Llyn y Morwynion and all are drowned except Blodeuwedd herself. She is transformed into an owl as punishment for her unfaithfulness.
- Good Walks Nearby
- Family Walk
B4407 and B4391 running east from Ffestiniog
Blaenau Ffestiniog - 3 miles, Porthmadog - 10 miles
Ffestiniog - 3 miles
Walking boots recommended. Dogs must be on lead.
Track leads to Llyn Morwynion.
Full Grid Reference - Llyn y Morwynion: SH 735425, Arrow Stone (Llech Gronw): SH714407
OS Landranger map sheet: 124
- Afon Cynfael and Llyn Morwynion, Blaenau Ffestiniog