Carrying passengers again after a break of 72 years
The Corris Railway was originally built to serve the slate quarries of the Dulas Valley. Opened in 1859 as a narrow-gauge (2ft 3in), horse-drawn tram road, the line originally ran from Corris and Aberllefenni to Derwenlas. In the 1870s the track was upgraded to allow the use of steam locomotives. Despite opposition from the slate industry, an 1883 Act of Parliament allowed passenger services on the line to commence.
Declining demand for Welsh slate and increased competition from road-haulage companies in the early 20th century saw the railway struggle financially. In 1930 the Great Western Railway took over the line. The company decided to end passenger services and in 1948, after flooding, the entire line was closed. The Corris Railway Society was formed in 1966 by a dedicated team of enthusiasts, and the museum opened four years later. After a break of 72 years, passenger services recommenced in 2002 under diesel power before a new steam locomotive, based on the Kerr Stuart No.4 design, was built by the society.
The railway boasts some rare features. Owing to the geography of the Dulas Valley, the narrow stations were all built on the eastern side of the line; consequently, all carriages have doors on this side only. Also notable are the vertical trestle wagons used to transport slate slabs upright to avoid damaging them – in much the same way that glass is transported today.
- Accessible by Public Transport
- Info Point
- Buggy Access
- Wheelchair Access
Please check the Corris Railway website.
5 miles north of Machynlleth on the A487 clearly sign-posted to railway
Machynlleth - 6 miles
Bus stop on the A487 at Corris
On Sustrans Cycle Route 8
Dogs carried by discretion. Carriages have facilities for wheelchairs
Full Grid Reference Number: SH 755077
OS Landranger map sheet: 124
- 01654 761303
- Corris Railway, Corris, SY20 9SH