Thomas Bach, the tank engine
Running 2½ miles along the northern shore of Llyn Padarn lies the Llanberis Lake Railway. Originally constructed as a 4 ft (1219 mm) gauge line to transport slate from the quarry at Dinorwic to Port Dinorwic (Felinheli), the line was reopened as a 1 ft 11 in (597 mm) narrow-gauge railway in 1971, to carry passengers through the stunning landscape of Snowdonia. In 2003 the railway was extended to the town of Llanberis, and the original terminus at Gilfach Ddu now serves the National Slate Museum.
Three steam locomotives operate the line: the Elidir, the Dolbadarn and the Thomas Bach, so-named in honour of its original driver. The western terminus of the line is at Pen Llyn, and the return journey takes around 45 minutes. However, many passengers stop off at the Cei Llydan station to relax and take in the majestic mountain views above the Llanberis Pass.
The railway is a must for all enthusiasts of the steam age, young and old alike. Incidentally, for those who are interested, a tank engine is one which carries its own water supply in on-board tanks, as opposed to those which require a separate water tender. So now you know!